2010 is drawing to a close and the promise of the New Year stretches out before us. Tantalizing, intoxicating in its newness.

It’s the perfect time to reflect on where you are and where you want to be. In the New Year I will turn 45. Forty-five!!! So to say that I have been reflecting, pondering, thinking, ruminating, and “dream bubbling” (a term my BFF and I coined to describe our larger than life wishes), is an understatement.

I can list without hesitation all the tangible things I want, but there was something else, something intangible, that I couldn’t quite put my finger on.

Then I ran across a blog post by Gretchen Rubin of http://www.happiness-project.com challenging her readers to find one word to set the tone for the New Year. One word to sum up your entire theme, everything you wanted to achieve for an entire year. I was intrigued!

Then I was stumped.

I thought and thought and thought. And then I thought some more. (Picture the Grinch trying to understand why the Whos in Whoville were singing on Christmas morning after he stole all their stuff, and you’ll come close to imagining my stumped-ness.)

Finally after still more thinking, and some mindless swimming around the bottomless ocean that is the Internet, a vague idea began to form. Then it became clearer. Then it became…a word.

Better!

What I want for 2011 is for everything to be a bit better. Overall my life is pretty good and I am extremely grateful for that. However, there is always room for improvement – my house could be cleaner, I could be more organized (like I used to be pre-baby), I could be healthier, I could work harder at my relationships, hobbies and projects, I could be a better parent/spouse, I could be early more often, eat better, exercise more, remember to take my medicine and vitamins everyday. The list goes on and on. In short, every area of my life could be better – some a little, some a lot.

So my theme for 2011 is BETTER, and my goal is to work everyday to make my life a little better than it was the day before.

With that vision in mind I no longer look nervously at 45, but welcome it and better version of me it will bring.

