Okay, so we are nearly four weeks into the New Year and my progress on “Better” is sketchy at best. Some days it seems like I’m making real progress, other days not so much. In order to keep myself on track and to make sure 2011 doesn’t get away from me with nothing of real value accomplished, I’ve decided to divide the year up into bite size nuggets – six-week chunks to be exact. 

If you are familiar with the theory of “How do you eat an elephant? (One bite at a time.)” then you’ll see where I’m going with this. 

I’m listing my major goals for the year, and then dividing each of them up into manageable parts.

My first six-week chunk will begin Sunday, January 30th and run thru March 12th. At the end of the six weeks I can assess where I am, what I’m doing right and what I need to work on.

When you look at a year as a whole it seems like an enormous amount of time to accomplish things. However, when you look at the year in the context of daily life, work, distractions, etc. the amount of time available shrinks considerably.

In the busyness of life, it is easy to get off track and “tomorrow” yourself right into December with nothing accomplished. I’m determined not to let that happen this year so I’m instituting what I now refer to as my Six Week Overhaul program and looking forward to seeing how far along I am at my first check up in March.

What about you? How do you keep yourself on track with your goals? How will you make the most of 2011?

